

ЕВРОПЕЙСКИ ПАРЛАМЕНТ PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EVROPSKÝ PARLAMENT EUROPA-PARLAMENTE EUROPÄISCHES PARLAMENT EUROOPA PARLAMENT EYPΩΠΑΪΚΟ KOINOBOYAIO EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN PARLAIMINT NA hEORPA PARLAMENTO EUROPEO EIROPAS PARLAMENTS EUROPOS PARLAMENTAS EURÓPAI PARLAMENT IL-PARLAMENT EWROPEW EUROPEES PARLEMENT PARLAMENT EUROPEJSKI PARLAMENTO EUROPEU PARLAMENTUL EUROPEAN EURÓPSKY PARLAMENT EVROPSKI PARLAMENT EUROOPAN PARLAMENTTI EUROPARALAMENTET

Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection

PROGRAMME

Public Hearing

of the Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection

Modernisation of Public Procurement

<u>Tuesday 24 May 2011 from 16.00 to 18.30</u> European Parliament, Brussels Room: JAN 6Q2

<u>16.00 - 16.10 Opening session</u>

- Opening remarks by the Chair, Mr Malcolm HARBOUR
- Introduction by the Rapporteur, Mrs Heide RÜHLE

16.10 - 17.30 Session 1

Innovative public procurement

 Mr Brian WINN, Head of Technology and Product Introduction, National Innovation Centre, National Health Service, United Kingdom

Sustainable public procurement

Mr Marc STEINER, Judge, Federal Administrative Court, Switzerland

Electronic public procurement

- Prof. Luís Valadares TAVARES, Professor of Operational Research and Systems Engineering, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal and President of e-business Society, Portugal
- Mr Miguel SOBRAL, Executive Vice-President, Vortal, Portugal

Open debate with Members and stakeholders

<u>17.30 - 18.20</u> Session 2

System of choice

 Ms Sara ÖBERG, Deputy Director, Svenskt Näringsliv (Confederation of Swedish Enterprise), Brussels Office

Improving SMEs access to public procurement

 Mr Andrea MARCONI, President, European Builders Confederation (EBC), Brussels

Practical experience and current problems

 Mr Neil HOPKINS, Head of Strategy and Performance, Corporate Procurement Services, Birmingham City Council, United Kingdom

Open debate with Members and stakeholders

18.20 - 18.30 Closing session

- Conclusions by the Rapporteur, Mrs Heide RÜHLE
- Closing remarks by the Chair, Mr Malcolm HARBOUR
